theweeklydiner

Springtime!

Posted on: April 4, 2013

The first day of spring snuck in on us between St. Patrick’s Day and Easter.  However, now that we are in April it feels more like spring.  The weather is warmer, a little sunnier, the outlook brighter.  However, this is my least favorite time of the year.  All you fellow allergy sufferers can sympathize with me.  As I was driving through the neighborhood today, I saw a yellow cloud being blown down the street.  Pollen is not my friend.  I think it’s about time to up the medication dosage.

And a quick non-food related note: I opened an Etsy shop!  delivEARingMemories  I LOVE LOVE LOVE Disney and Disneyland.  Obviously, I threw my son a Disneyland themed birthday party.  I originally set up the shop to sell my pictures of Disneyland since there is a market for them.  And I am getting there.  There are edits and groupings and having to find a print lab.  So in the meantime I have made jewelry from vintage Disneyland tickets.  And they are simply gorgeous!  Check out the shop and let me know what you think.

Vintage Ticket Necklace

Vintage Ticket Necklace

Map Pendant

Map Pendant

My favorite- a Vintage Walt Disney world Magic Key ticket turned pendant

My favorite- a Vintage Walt Disney World Magic Key ticket turned pendant

This past week I made my favorite Coconut Banana Bread.  It has been three months since I have even tasted its deliciousness, let alone made a batch.  I usually make mini-loaves so I can freeze them and not overindulge in this super moist, delectable bread.  And it smells heavenly while baking.  Definitely my favorite bread.

two batches of Coconut Banana Bread

two batches of Coconut Banana Bread

This morning I came across this bread recipe for a Sweet Potato Bread.  It took everything I had not to run to the kitchen and make this bread.  The only that stopped me was that I had some coconut banana bread lying in wait to be eaten.  So I do have plans to make this bread in the upcoming week.  As soon as I eat the rest of my banana loaf.  ***This is a really good recipe.  I am not used to spiced bread since I am not a carrot cake fan.  I made four mini loaves so I could share the bread and not eat every last crumb. I had overcooked the sweet potato some so I had to through out some chunks that wouldn’t mash.  And I initially though that I had overcooked the loaves as they appeared really dark brown but they are so moist, soft and tasty.  I will be making this bread again.

One of my besties in coming in to town at the end of the week.  I plan on making coconut macaroons for her.  I recently found out they are one of her favorite types of cookies.  Goes to show you can always learn something new about your friends.  However this is a secret recipe that I cannot share with you.  However, this friend of mine also let me know about coconut M&Ms.  I hadn’t really ever paid attention to them despite being a coconut lover.  So I bought a bag.  They have stayed closed in my pantry.  I have been saving them.  Saving them for these M&M Cookies.  I made these cookies with regular M&Ms and they are INCREDIBLE!!!.  Definitely a recipe that deserves the title “THE BEST.”  Give them a try, you won’t be sorry.  And, so you don’t eat the entire batch in one sitting, you can freeze the dough and pull out a couple at a time.  It’s perfect! ***Using coconut M&Ms was a delicious choice!  But you must like coconut.  I have a friend who kind of likes it and she wasn’t fond of the coconut flavor.  I promised her that for her birthday I would use peanut butter M&Ms with this recipe.  I am not sure I can wait until October though.  

Plain M&M Cookies

Plain M&M Cookies

Coconut Macaroons, Brownies and Coconut M&M Cookies

Coconut Macaroons, Brownies and Coconut M&M Cookies

 

White-writing-29491444-516-350

FRIDAY

SMOOTHIE: Pineapple Mango Green Smoothie–for this smoothie I make a few changes.  Instead of measuring individual fruits, I just use 2 cups of frozen mixed tropical fruits and add a dash of coconut extract.  Now if I could just magically transport myself to Hawaii!  I drink this so fast every time!!

I devoured this green smoothie.  Extremely tasty with the coconut extract.

I devoured this green smoothie. Extremely tasty with the coconut extract.

DINNER: We have a roll over recipe form last week.  I had more leftovers than anticipated so from last week we are making the Pork and Ginger Wonton Stir Fry.  I will still serve this as planned with Cucumber Salad.  The coolness of the salad should balance the heat of the stir fry.White-writing-29491444-516-350

 

Pork & Ginger Wonton Stir Fry

Pork & Ginger Wonton Stir Fry

 

SATURDAY

SMOOTHIE: Pumpkin spice Green Smoothie.  A can of puree lasts for about three smoothies so this will be it for a few weeks.

DINNER:  new recipe alert!!!!  This came from my Cooking Light Magazine: Pan-Grilled Chicken with Chorizo Confetti.  (I will probably grill my chicken outside if it isn’t raining.  I love cooking on a real grill!)  A reviewer of the recipe served hers with black beans which sounds delicious.  Or maybe a side salad with a salsa-vinaigrette.  I will also be making a Jalapeño-Cheddar Crusty Bread.  It’s my personal favorite.  I need to try a few new savory recipes like bacon-cheddar, but sometimes you have to stick with what you know.  ***While I did make the crusty bread, my dinners got moved around and I never did get to try this chicken recipe.  Maybe in the next week or two.

jalapeno cheddar loaf in stages

jalapeno cheddar loaf in stages

White-writing-29491444-516-350

SUNDAY

SMOOTHIE:  My favorite Banana Fudge Green Smoothie!  Look for the recipe on my prior post Monster Mash.

DNINNER:  Since my friend from Boston is in town visiting her folks and we will be having a BBQ!!  So what goes best with BBQ??  Why cole slaw of course.  Never buy store-made cole slaw again!  This recipe is super simple, you make it a day in advance and tastes amazing!!!

White-writing-29491444-516-350

MONDAY

SMOOTHIE:  The one that started them all, Skinnytaste’s Monster Green Smoothie.

DINNER: new recipe alert!!!  Chicken Pillows!  These look a lot like my favorite Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole but with slightly less sauce and cheese and a little more crunch.  I can’t wait to try them.  I will serve it with these green bean fries (another new recipe).

 

Chicken Pillow with Parmesan Green Beans

Chicken Pillow with Parmesan Green Beans

White-writing-29491444-516-350

TUESDAY

SMOOTHIE: none

DINNER: From the hilarious and yummy cookbook 50 Shades of Chicken, we will be feating on Sweet Potato Hash.  This is a delicious recipe, especially for the sweet potato fan!

Chicken and Sweet Potato Hash

Chicken and Sweet Potato Hash

White-writing-29491444-516-350

WEDNESDAY

SMOOTHIE:  Strawberry Cheesecake Monster Smoothie

DINNER:  One of my personal favorite recipes, Buffalo Chicken Potato Skins!  I am undecided as of right now if I will be making the crockpot buffalo chicken that is the base for this recipe, or just cook some chicken and add buffalo sauce, either way these skins are scrumptious!!

White-writing-29491444-516-350

THURSDAY

SMOOTHIE: none

DINNER: leftovers

White-writing-29491444-516-350

3 Responses to "Springtime!"

Thanks for trying my M&Ms cookie recipe! Glad you like them & they get the title of the best. That sweet potato bread is just…incredible. I hope you can try that! And I’ve seen that coconut/banana bread recipe and last week I made a pineapple/coconut bread but her recipe sounds great…So many breads, so little time:)

I agree!!! And since I am the only one that eats them at home I need to be careful. Love your recipes!!!

[…] of baking recipes, one for M&M Cookies and one for Sweet Potato Bread.  You can check out last week’s post for reviews on both!  During this past week, a customer dropped off a crate of raspberries and […]

Leave a Reply

“If you are what you eat, then I only want to eat the good stuff.” — Ratatouille

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

`1Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flickr Photos

RSS My Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Ultimate Running Goal

The Goofy ChallengeJanuary 13th, 2018
5 months to go.

Always look for your goodies here first!

