theweeklydiner

Let them eat cake!

Posted on: April 15, 2013

I am by no means a cake making professional.  However I LOVE making and eating cakes.  The majority of the time I use boxed cake mixes.  Usually this is because I have lots of treats to make for my son’s birthday and I am trying to save on time.  Every once in awhile, it is nice to slow down and take the time and make a cake from scratch.  Today we are going to look back over a few of the more FUN cakes and cupcakes I have made.

This first cake I made for bunko.  It was the second time I tried to do block cakes.  I like tender, moist cakes and those tend to crumb up when you ice them.  That’s what happened with these cakes, they sort of crumbled.  So while they do not have clean edges, it still turned out cute.

IMAG0129

These cupcakes I made were for the Christmas party at my son’s school.  They took a little extra time to creat but were pretty easy overall and looked amazing!

IMG_0007

The style of these next cupcakes were for showers.  I found this idea while browsing pinterest for ideas.  The first set were for a baby shower and the second for a bridal shower.  In case you were wondering, yes….it is a pain in the behind to tie all those little ribbons on the cupcakes.  Though after awhile you can find your rhythm.  And of course you must match your frosting to your ribbon string for a full effect.

IMAG0450

IMG_4962

Sometimes simple is better, especially when it is for a class party.  Grocery stores sell some very cute kits to quickly decorate cupcakes if you are tight on time.  The ones below came with the picks, sprinkles and cupcake liners that I matched with store bought confetti cake and matching frosting.

IMG_0984

For some reason, teachers are always associated with apples.  So what better treat to make for teachers than these apple cupcakes.  These ones weren’t actually apple flavored but I am sure you could work that in.

IMG_1351

This next cake turned out so pretty.  I found the cake idea while sitting browsing a magazine at the doctor’s office.  Isn’t that where you find some of the best recipes??  I made it for a 4th of July BBQ.  To me watermelon and BBQ go hand in hand!

watermelon

The next cupcakes I made for an end of school year swim party.  Both the apple cupcakes above and these cupcakes were found in the book, What’s New Cupcake?  This book is full of fun ideas, some more difficult than others but worth the effort.  These were just too cute!

IMG_1570

IMG_1591

This next cupcake was another pinterest find.  My husband loves to fish and this was an easy way to get my young son involved in decorating the cupcakes.  He put the pretzels on then I would draw the fishing line and then he placed the fish.  My husband loved them!

IMAG0716Next is the infamous Kit Kat Cake, perhaps one of my best pinterest finds.  I first made this cake for a birthday party for my friend’s daughter.  She was protective of the cake and was upset when her grandfather asked me to make one for another party.  I have made four total with cake #5 set to be made this Friday for a dessert auction.  I may just have to buy it myself.

IMAG0806

IMG_4612

The first time I made the cake using vanilla cake and chocolate frosting.  The birthday girl wanted a rainbow cake.  I am a lover of chocolate and I found that using a chocolate frosting was just too much.  So I now make them using Duff’s Zebra cake mix and vanilla frosting unless otherwise requested.  As far as cake mixes go, his products are the best!

IMG_5251

We made one for the teachers of his preschool when we were leaving the school.

IMG_1141

And yet another for a friend’s BIG 3-0!! (my son: the master at photo-bombing)

IMG_1766

Ok- so maybe this isn’t technically a cake, but I did use a bundt pan so I am counting it.  I found this idea on Pinterest.  I don’t really look anywhere else these days for inspiration.  Why should I when I get Pinspiration?  Pretty basic cake: rice krispy treats with M&Ms mixed in at the last minute so they don’t melt.  Then you push the mixture into a greased bundt pan.  Once set, turn it out and drizzle in the chocolate of your choice.  This Christmas dessert went fast.

IMG_0352

The next is a very simple yet lovely looking cake for a school Valentine’s party.  I took cake mix and baked one square and one round cake.  You cut the round cake in half and put each half one side of the square to make a heart shape.  Then frost and decorate.  For this one I also dyed the cake pix hot pink using Duff’s Electric Color Gels.

IMG_0609

The next cake is the prettiest cake I ever made.  Of course I had the help of my husband who helped me cut the layers of the cake.  The rest was all me, and Martha of course.  This recipe was found through a google search.  I came across Martha Stewart’s recipe for Ultimate Coconut Cake.  I almost didn’t make this cake.  It is a very intimidating recipe and there are a lot of steps.  It was worth it.  This cake was a thing of beauty.

IMG_0783

For a friend’s birthday, I took the same cake but used chocolate frosting instead.  It was tasty too, no real coconut this time.

IMG_1112

My friend threw her daughter a roller skating party last year, like real skates not blades.  I had recently ordered the Pampered Chef Easy Accent Decorator.  So this was my first time piping.  For fun accents I used the Duff’s Stuff  Cake Tattoos.  The skates were a bit more difficult.  Most things I came across used the Wilton Skate Cake Mold.  Then after some random searching, I came across a project to teach a child to learn how to tie shoelaces.  So I followed the project to make the shoe part of the skates.  I used chocolate donuts for the wheels and marshmallows as stoppers.  Then I found those awesome glow in the dark shoelaces.  This cake was a hit!

IMG_2023

The next cake was made by request.  It was just a “please make me a cake for my birthday.”  So I had the freedom to create anything. Since this was for a 10th birthday, I wanted something fun but not childish.  After searching Pinterest, again, I blended two ideas together.  I decided on a purple hombre cake surrounded in sprinkles.  The birthday girl loved it!

IMG_7919

IMG_1847 IMG_1848

This year for Christmas, I found this cake on guess where????  That’s right, Pinterest!  I actually made it incorrectly and had to run to get more cake mix.  I had accidentally used black food coloring instead of green.  Oops!  Take the time and read the labels.  Lessoned learned.  I loved this cake!!

IMG_2586

IMG_2622

This last item isn’t really a cake but it is made with cake batter and was too good not to share…  Cake Batter Blondies!!  Try them out today!

Cake Batter Blondies.  Good plain--- AMAZING frosted!

I could eat the entire pan

As you can see, I like to have fun with baking.  If you’ve been wanting to try a new recipe, I say go for it!  Baking brings people together, so heat up your oven and invite some friends over.

Leave a Reply

“If you are what you eat, then I only want to eat the good stuff.” — Ratatouille

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

`1Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Flickr Photos

RSS My Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Ultimate Running Goal

The Goofy ChallengeJanuary 13th, 2018
5 months to go.

Always look for your goodies here first!

